Behind the palace lies the 78-acre (32 ha) Huwon (Rear garden) which was
originally constructed for the use of the royal family and palace women.
The garden incorporates a lotus pond, pavilions, and landscaped lawns, trees,
and flowers. There are over 26,000 specimens of a hundred different species of
trees in the garden and some of the trees behind the palace are over 300 years
old.
The garden for the private use of the king had been called 'Geumwon'
(Forbidden garden) because even high officials were not allowed to enter
without the king's permission. It had also been called 'Naewon' ('Inner
garden'). Today Koreans often call it 'Biwon' (Secret garden) which derived
from the office of same name in the late 19th century. Though the garden had
many other names, the one most frequently used through Joseon dynasty period
was 'Huwon'.
Entering Huwon garden.
- A variety of ceremonies hosted by the king were held in Huwon.
-
In the early period of the Joseon dynasty, military inspections in
which the king participated were often held here.
-
King Sejo had troops parade and array before him or commanded them by
himself in the garden.
-
In addition, feasts were given, archery tournaments held, and
fireworks enjoyed in Huwon.
|
Buyongjeong pavilion and Buyeongji pond.
In September 2012, the Buyongjeong pavilion in the garden was re-opened
after a year-long restoration project.
- The pavilion was restored based on the Donggwoldo from 1820.
|
Juhamnu pavilion.
Juhamnu pavilion is a two story pavilion that served as a library and
reading room during the reign of King Jeongjo. The two story pavilion
was first constructed in 1776 during the first year of the reign of King
Jeongjo.
-
A royal library known as Gyujanggak was found on the first floor.
Gyujanggak was not only used as a library but also as a political
research institute for the king as he worked on his reform ideas.
- The second floor was used as a reading room.
-
The small gate leading to Juhamnu pavilion is known as Eosumun gate.
The name Eosumun refers to the fact that a fish cannot live outside of
water. This was a reminder to King Jeongjo that he as a ruler must
consider and respect the people he rules.
|
Uiduhap pavilion.
Uiduhap pavilion was built by Crown Prince Hyomyeong as a place of
study, reading, and contemplation.
-
Unlike other royal structures, the architecture is conservative and
not decorated with vivid paintwork. It is one of the most modest
buildings at Changdeokgung palace.
-
The structure was built in 1827 by Hyomyeong who was the first son of
King Sunjo. Sunjo, who reigned from 1800 to 1834, was the 23rd Joseon
Dynasty king.
|
Aeryeonjeong pavilion and Aeryeonji pond.
Aeryeonjeong pavilion is a small square pavilion located on Aeryeonji
pond.
-
It was first constructed in 1692 during the reign of King Sukjong.
-
The pavilion was originally located on a small island in the middle of
the pond.
-
After the island was removed, the building was relocated to its
current location on the side of the pond.
|
Yeongyeongdang residence.
The Yeongyeongdang residence was built in 1828 by Crown Prince Hyomyeong
for Jinjakrye, which was a special ceremony for his father King Sunjong.
-
During this ceremony court officials would present food and wine to
the king and queen as a sign of strong royal authority.
-
Yeongyeongdang was also the men’s quarters. It was here where the
master of the house resided. Inside is a main room where the master
would meet with guests and where he stayed during the day. A separate
room with a raised floor was used as a bedroom in the summer.
-
Yeongyeongdang is built with stone pillars on top of a stone platform.
The roof is single-eaved and features roof extensions at each of the
corners. Windows surround all four sides of the building which were
designed to be lifted during the warmer summer months.
|
Nongsujeong pavilion.
Nongsujeong is a small building built in the Yeongyeongdang complex.
-
Nongsujeong, situated on a high spot in the garden, bears a roof that
resembles a hawk spreading its wings.
|
Beomwoosa/Pyumwoosa/Pyeomusa pavilion.
Beomwoosa pavilion is a pavilion of the Joseon Dynasty.
-
'Beomwoo' means to put a stone acupuncture on the foolish to enlighten
them and warn them. Therefore, the name of the pavilion was given to
those who stay here with the intention of awakening one's own
stupidity and exalting one's virtue.
-
In particular, Crown Prince Hyomyeong, the son of King Jeongjo or
Sunjo, frequently visited Beomwoosa pavilion to guard himself, read
and write poetry.
|
Jondeokjeong Pavilion and Gwallamji pond.
Jondeokjeong Pavilion is a hexagonal, two story roof pavilion.
-
On the underside of the painted ceiling are two dragons playing with a
wish fulfilling jewel. This jewel is known as a cintamani. The
painting is symbolic of total royal authority.
-
A tablet hangs on the north side of the pavilion that reads “All
streams of the world have moons reflected on them, but there is only
one moon in the sky. The moon in the sky is me, the king, and the
streams are you, my subjects.” This plaque reiterates that King Sejong
desired full royal authority over the people of his country.
-
Jondeokjeong Pavilion is located on a small and peaceful pond with
wonderful views of the surrounding garden. The pavilion would have
been a peaceful retreat for anyone in the royal family that would have
wanted to rest and relax.
|
Seungjae pavilion.
‘Seungjae’ means ‘there is an outstanding view’. It's actually on a high
ground, so the view from here is said to be the best.
-
It appears in Donggwol Dohyeong, painted in 1908 (2nd year of
Yonghee), so it seems to have been built during that time. Since its
establishment, it has reached today without major changes.
|
Gwallamjeon pavilion and Gwallamji pond.
The only fan-shaped Gwallamjeon pavilion was built on the brim of
Gwallamji pond.
|
Cheonguijeong pavilion.
An ancient royal rice-planting ceremony is reenacted at the palace.
-
The rice planting is held near the Cheonguijeong, a straw-thatched
house on the grounds of Changdeokgung Palace, on June 5. The ceremony
replicates a ritual performed by the king personally during Joseon
times (1392-1910) where he ceremonially took part in an official
rice-planting at the palace in a bid to predict whether or not there
would be a good or poor harvest that year.
-
The ritual shows how the kings tried to sympathize and bond with the
common people who relied on working in the fields, even though the
king resided at the palace.
-
The roof of the Cheonguijeong - the only straw-thatched house at the
palace - is refurbished with straw harvested from the rice plants in
the autumn.
|
Ongnyucheon stream.
The Ongnyucheon ("Jade Stream") area is of particular interest. It
contains a U-shaped water channel carved in 1636 for floating wine cups,
with a small waterfall and an inscribed poem on the boulder above it.
-
Ongnyucheon, “a stream flowing in a deep valley in the north”
originates in the waterfall under Soyoam Rock, on which is inscribed a
poem by King Sukjong (the 19th king of the Joseon Dynasty from 1674 to
1720) and Chinese characters by King Injo (the sixteenth Joseon king,
who ruled from 1623 to 1649).
|
See also
Source
Location